Countries may change their names for various reasons, including political, cultural, or geographical considerations. Here are ten examples of countries that have changed their names

1. Myanmar (formerly Burma)

The military government changed the country's name from Burma to Myanmar in 1989.

2. Ivory Coast (formerly Côte d'Ivoire)

The government of this West African nation officially adopted the name Ivory Coast in 1986, although both names are still used interchangeably.

3. Zimbabwe (formerly Rhodesia)

The country changed its name from Rhodesia to Zimbabwe upon gaining independence from British colonial rule in 1980.

4. Iran (formerly Persia)

The name of the country was officially changed from Persia to Iran in 1935. Persia is still used in some contexts, especially when referring to historical periods.

5. Sri Lanka (formerly Ceylon)

The island nation in South Asia changed its name from Ceylon to Sri Lanka in 1972, following its shift to a republic.

6. Belarus (formerly Byelorussian SSR)

After gaining independence from the Soviet Union in 1991, the country changed its name from the Byelorussian SSR (Soviet Socialist Republic) to the Republic of Belarus.

7.  Czech Republic (formerly Czechoslovakia)

Lorem Ipsum is simply dummy text of the printing and typesetting industry. Lorem Ipsum has been the industry's standard dummy text ever since the 1500s,

8. North Macedonia (formerly Macedonia)

The country changed its name from the Republic of Macedonia to the Republic of North Macedonia in 2019 following a long-standing dispute with Greece over the use of the name Macedonia.

9. Eswatini (formerly Swaziland)

The Kingdom of Swaziland officially changed its name to the Kingdom of Eswatini in 2018. The king announced that the new name reflected the country's original name in the Swazi language and means "land of the Swazis.

10. Laos (formerly Kingdom of Laos)

The country was known as the Kingdom of Laos until the monarchy was abolished in 1975, and it became the Lao People's Democratic Republic.